Young Artists

YOUNG ARTISTS WORKSHOPS

The greatest way to unlock and activate the wisdom of childhood is through play. And play most naturally and organically builds the muscles best suited for spiritual health and mature interactivity and engagement with the world. Theater at its core has been described as organized play, utilizing at one and the same time form and freedom, discipline and improvisation. With this in mind and heart the Stella Adler Studio of Acting is excited to open its doors to young people, 8-10 and 11-13 for the very first time.

HOW TO APPLY
These courses are only eligible for students ages 8–10 and 11–13 by the start of the first class. Any student under the age of 8 will not be admitted into the class. New applicants should first submit an online application here. Once we receive your application we will contact you to schedule entrance interview appointment with the parent/guardian and student.
Young Artists Application Form


Winter 2021


(8–10 Years Old)

FUNDAMENTALS OF ACTING
4 Weeks  |  Saturdays  |  Tuition: $150
January 16–February 6, 2021 |  12:00–1:30 PM EST (9:00–10:30 AM PST)
This class will provide an introduction to the core elements of acting technique. Each 90 minute class will be dedicated to different elements of acting training including character, text, working with acting partners, and stage presence. In this class students will be introduced to the Adler approach to acting through creative explorations that utilize the imagination and physical body. This class will blend the joy of theatre with the challenge of acting technique to provide a comprehensive understanding of acting through creative play.
Instructor: Danielle Edmonds

SCENE STUDY; APPROACHING THE ROLE
4 Weeks |  Saturdays  |  Tuition: $150
January 16–February 6, 2021|  2:00–3:30 PM EST (11:00 AM–12:30 PM PST)
This class will dive into scene work with a detailed focus on deepening characters and connecting with scene partners. Each class will provide students with an opportunity to work on a character in a scene and to learn about the various elements of acting involved in scene work through engaging and fun theatre activities and games. Topics covered in this class will include: building complex characters, working with props, entering and exiting scenes, understanding characters’ objective in scenes, and  being a good audience for other actors.
Instructor: Danielle Edmonds

(11–13 Years Old)

ACTING TECHNIQUE 1
4 Weeks  |  Saturdays  |  Tuition: $150
January 16–February 6, 2021 |  11:00 AM–1:00 PM EST ( 8:00–10:00 AM PST)
This Stella Adler® program explores the language and principles of Stella Adler’s approach to acting, including action, circumstance, and justification, rooted in the power of the imagination. Young artists will develop a foundation from which to build themselves as actors as well as human beings.
Instructor: Melissa Mickens

IMPROV TO SCENE WORK
4 Weeks  |  Saturdays  |  Tuition: $150
January 16–February 6, 2021 |  2:00–4:00 PM EST (11:00 AM–1:00 PM PST)
The idea that improv is different from scripted acting is the first thing this class will debunk! In only four weeks actors not only learn the tools of improvisation but also learn how it compliments and supports all their scripted work. Actors discover how many of the fundamentals of both run parallel to one another. Strengthening your craft in one, will make the other all the more effortless!
Instructor: Andy Schneeflock