Festival of the Arts

The Harold Clurman Festival of the Arts

Harold Clurman Festival of the Arts discuses the relationship between art and social activism through symposium discussions, theater, dance theater, language and poetry events and concerts. This event, inaugurated in May of 2006, draws some of the most inspiring talents and minds of our time including the following participating artists:

Actors Whoopi Goldberg, Rosie Perez, Phylicia Rashad, Roy Scheider, Kate Mulgrew, James Lipton, Joanna Gleason, Marian Seldes, Anna Deavere Smith, Alvin Epstein, Elizabeth Parrish, Sam Schacht, Michael Howard, Holland Taylor, Zoe Caldwell, Lois Smith, Ruby Dee, Jeffrey Wright, Mira Sorvino and Elaine Stritch; Playwrights Edward Albee, John Guare, Israel Horovitz, Ellen M. Violett, Wallace Shawn and Horton Foote; Musicians David Amram, Sonya Lee, Ned Otter, and Laurence Gingold; Dancers and choreographers Margie Gillis, Bill. T. Jones and Alexandra Wells; Poets Derek Walcott, James Sherry, Charles Wright and Grace Schulman; Educators and activists Colin Greer, Herbert Kohl, Maxine Greene, William Ayers and Frances Lucerna; Authors Harold Bloom (Shakespeare: The Invention of the Human), Zlata Filipovic (Zlata’s Diary: A Child’s Life in Wartime Sarajevo), Ishmael Beah (A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier), Jimmy Briggs (Innocents Lost:When Child Soldiers go to War), Terry Anderson (Den of Lions) and Giandomenico Picco (Man Without a Gun); Filmmakers Jonathan Demme and Mike Medavoy and Activists John Prendergast (Enough Project), Radhika Coomaraswamy (UN special representative for children and armed conflict) and Olara Otunnu (former UN special representative for children and armed conflict).

Proceeds from this event support the Stella Adler Studio of Acting and its programs including the Stella Adler Outreach Division providing free, professional artist training to New York City’s low-income youth. The Stella Adler Studio of Acting is a 501(c)3 not for profit organization.